Mom Life

Enjoying Life Offline

I haven’t posted since last week so figured I’d pop on with a little update. I’ve just been enjoying life offline and soaking up some family time. I didn’t plan ahead, so I didn’t have anything scheduled, but I know the blog isn’t going anywhere.

That’s the great thing about blogging…as long as you have met your deadlines for sponsored work, it still chugs along on autopilot if you step away for a bit. But not too long, because then your stats suffer and you feel compelled to come back months later with that post everyone seems to write at least once, where they apologize for being gone for so long. Even I have one where I talk about not having time to blog, back when I was just getting started.

So why the break this time? Well I sort of buried the lead on purpose so only those that really cared to read this far would see it. Not sure how ready I am to blast it to the world, but my husband is being deployed overseas for ten months and I just wanted to enjoy the last weeks doing family things and not caring about turning every outing into a story. Sometimes I really enjoy documenting the things we do, and sometimes I just want to watch it all happen and not touch my phone. And I had a big list of things we needed to take care of to prep for nearly a year apart.

So I’m sure there are future posts about dealing with long deployments. Many of you that know me from the blog probably didn’t even know I was a military wife. I don’t talk about it a lot. My husband is in the Army Special Forces, otherwise known as a Green Beret, so it’s different than the conventional military. We’ve never lived on base so I don’t really have that support that military wives usually get from being part of a community. The deployments are longer and always somewhere dangerous. There’s usually no R&R and sometimes there’s no communications for a while. It’s not easy, but I’ve gone through it four times already in our 17 years of marriage, so it’s just a part of our life. But thankfully, this is the last one! Once he returns it’s time to focus on retirement.

Of course, this will be the first deployment with a child so things will be different. We also live in an older house we are fixing up, so it has a tendency to fall apart on a regular basis. I have quite the challenge ahead of me. I did spend some time freaking out, being angry because I was told there would be no more deployments like this, being sad and worried…but that gets me nowhere. It doesn’t change that this is happening and I can’t do anything about it except be prepared and meet the challenge head-on.

Because in the end I am a Special Forces wife. We are strong and independent. We have to be or it would never work. There’s an often quoted statistic that 80% of SF marriages end in divorce, and over the years I’ve seen that stat proved right. The SF life is hard on a marriage. And honestly, I’m tremendously looking forward to our next non-military chapter of life.

But until then I’ll be busy doing my job – keeping it together on the home front. And most likely writing all about it to help me keep it together mentally and emotionally. Writing is my therapy. And right now, It’s time for me to get off the computer and go spend some more time just enjoying these last few days as a normal family.

Categories: Mom Life

Tagged as: ,

6 replies »

  1. Good luck and best wishes all around! I’m glad this will be the last deployment.

    I’m not a military wife, but I can imagine how difficult that life could get—my husband travels for work and that is hard enough, and we are able to communicate the entire time he’s gone.

    You got this, Mama!

    Like

    • Thank you 🙂 This blog and the people I connect with will be a big part of helping me keep it together! I felt better just writing this little bit today and finally saying something.

      Like

  2. Hugs and Love. I know how hard it had been for you in the past and now with Kiddo K adds a whole new element to the deployment. Like you said, you are strong. And here’s to your house not breaking down and no more deployments.

    Like

    • Thank you! I can’t wait for mine to retire and be done with deployments. He keeps bringing up contract work and I’m like…oh, hell no! I am hoping the new phase of life is not military related. After being together 20 years, I’ve had enough. But I’ll take that Tricare for life LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply